Make any conversation “interesting”

Want to know a fun social experiment? Just add air quotes randomly into your next conversation and watch people’s expressions. It will make the conversation your having 100,000 times more interesting.

The unnecessary addition of quote marks to any word makes it instantly suspect in our culture, and therefore potentially changes its meaning. What meaning does it change it to, you may ask? Whatever the listener assumes based on their knowledge (or lack of knowledge) about you. It’s fun. Want proof? Well here’s a written example:

Sample sentence: Last Tuesday I went to the zoo with my friend.

Boring, right?  Now, let’s add some ” ” s and spice it up!

– Last Tuesday I went to the “zoo” with my friend.

– Last Tuesday I went to the zoo with my “friend.”

– Last Tuesday “I” went to the zoo “with” my friend.

How would you interpret those sentences? Most likely differently than what they really say. Fun! Interesting! Try it!

I mean, “try” it!

I mean, try “it!”

Leave a Reply

