9 Awesome Things About 2009

What was awesome about last year?  Lots.  But here’s a few highlights (in no particular order):

  • My boys’ obsession with Spider Man.  C started it and H joined in.  They go to bed every night only after we “talk about the bad guys.”  The Rhino is H’s fav, and C likes them all.
  • A Million Miles in a Thousand Years” by Donald Miller.  Every life should tell a story.  What’s yours?  Hard to answer.  Fun to discuss.
  • The Umbrella Academy“.  I discovered this gem of a comic book mini series this year and loved it.  Read both volumes.  Smart.  Interesting.  Well drawn.  Cool.
  • The War of Art” by Steven Pressfield.  The Resistance.  The definition of the professional artist.  A challenging book that everyone who ever wanted to create something and hasn’t should read.  Then get on with the creating.
  • My wife.  She’s just awesome.  All the time.  Everyday.
  • We are ready to adopt.  We picked an agency.  We took the classes.  We even got to foster an adorable baby for a few weeks.  We’re on our way.
  • I finished my comic “Dog Town.”  The first one I’ve completed in a while.  And I got to sell a few at APE with fellow comic fanboy and writing genius, Russ.  If you know me, ask me for a copy.  I’ve got a few.
  • We’re having a baby!
  • I kept my job, and dare say I even did pretty well at it.  Not sure what all this time spent there will add up to, but I’m glad to have some momentum (though I still dread the word “career”).
2 thoughts on “9 Awesome Things About 2009

  1. Absolutely great. It seems like everyone else is complaining about 2009 and demanding that 2010 be better. I’m all for looking forward with some optimism, but how can we just dismiss an entire year like it was a waste of our time? Thanks for the recap: it’s refreshing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

