Batman’s Journal: Knuckle Sandwich

batman_fight

 

August 13,

Pulled three teeth from my knuckles tonight.

They belonged to a pimp named Smokey who owns all of the prostitutes working the lower east side, by the docks.

He was beating one of his girls with a wrench when I happened upon them. She didn’t bring back enough money from her last job, or the job before that, or the job before that. He wasn’t being careful where or how hard he hit her. He didn’t care if she ever worked again.

And he was smiling as he hit her. Enjoying it.

I punched him in the face until my hand went numb.

Thought all the blood was his until I saw a small white object sticking out of my glove.

He’ll be drinking through a straw from now on, provided they can reconstruct his face.

The girl was mad at me for making her find a new employer.

Justice is hard to give to those who don’t want it.

Leave a Reply

